Random July garden images

by Caroline Brown

Long time no blog…it’s summer after all. Garden updates abound. I usually hate photo-heavy posts. In fact I don’t recall making a post before with this many photos but in this case the pics are worth a whole bunch of words. First, a before/after view of my plot. Below taken June 20:

And from a different angle, taken today. For reference, see the poppies in the right upper corner of the garden? See if you can find them in the above picture. Two very small ones in the top left corner, towards the center.

Crazy how tall the tomatoes got huh? They’re totally out of control–they’ve busted out of their puny tomato cages and have moved out of the garden into the surrounding areas.  I harvested the first tomatoes today! a couple of grape-sized ones that were SO sweet, and a few of an early variety called Glacier that’s supposed to do well in the northeast. The tomatoes were good, not too sweet but so fresh tasting.

In all fairness, everyone’s gardens at Fox Pt. look fabulous:

Another angle (my plot is at the very end of this path):

OK, now check out the before/after of my basil. June 20:

Here it is today. Notice it’s already started to bolt. I spent a lot of time today harvesting and snipping flower heads to stop the bolting.

We’re going to be eating pesto all summer. This is not a bad thing–there are worse dishes we could be eating I suppose! (If I do say so myself, I make a mean pesto.)

More pics tomorrow: Poppies, friendly insects, and a mystery vegetable.

10 Comments to “Random July garden images”

  1. Your garden looks great! Its winter where I live and everything has stopped growing at the moment. Cant wait for summer and homegrown tomatoes again… shop bought ones just arent the same.

  2. Wow, I am envious C, I miss having my little garden. YOurs looks just wonderful, so lush and green. Oh, the poor basil! It does go fast, doesn’t it? We just had the Pasta Primavera….with Pesto, from NJFV the other night and if I do say so myself, yummmmmm…..a good way to use up some of that harvest. Happy Gardening! G 🙂

  3. What a wonderful garden.
    We LOVED our home-grown basil last summer.
    Can’t understand why we didn’t plant that years ago! What a fantastically easy and delicious treat!

    Nina at Nature Remains

  4. Lush! The plots look great and so inviting. Great looking tomatoes and basil. Now for a bit of mozzerella and a drizzle of olive oil….MMMMmmm!

  5. Photos look great and i think you have done an amazing job keep up the good work and if you get a chance please check out this site http://www.gardeningcareblog.com
    and let me know what you think of my efforts

  6. Hi, I wanted to ask about your transplanted yew project. The original plant looked so small compared to the greened out photo. Was that a one year growth? We are in zone4-5 and want to move a large spreading yew from a fairly sunny east area to a northern shaded area. I told my husband it is far too big, 4′ diamether, but he is insisting. Even if he does all the work, I think it will die. How long did yours take to recover? Thanks for your advice.

  7. Hi Dianne, I think the photos are deceiving you a little bit. The first photo is showing the rootball of the yew, not the yew itself. The 2nd photo is right after we transplanted it…so it was in pretty good shape after it was dug out. It was a very big yew and it was really hard (heavy & awkward) to transplant and move, but it was completely worth it. We didn’t have any problems with it at all. The thing is you have to give it a ton of water and it should do fine. Also make sure when you dig it out you dig out a really big rootball so it keeps as much of its roots intact as possible. good luck!

  8. Very interesting information, I have just finished building a hydroponics garden, and this blog has helped, Nice outdoor garden by the way. Thank You.

  9. Like this garden! Now in my garden I cultivation tomato

  10. Oh yeah tomatoes can grow up to 2 metres here if the summer is real hot and I feed them with nice liquid feed, and it depends on the variety too of course.

Leave a comment