Silly Saturday fun: compost quotes

by Caroline Brown

Just a little Saturday silliness–a few quotes about compost.

Ani DiFranco:

I'm queen of my own compost heap & I'm getting used to the smell.

Bette Midler:

My whole life has been spent waiting for an epiphany, a manifestation of God's presence, the kind of transcendent, magical experience that let's you see your place in the big picture. And that is what I had with my first compost heap.

Hamlet:

Confess yourself to heaven,
Repent what's past, avoid what is to come,
And do not spread the compost on the weeds
To make them ranker.

George Meredith:

Earth knows no desolation.
She smells regeneration in the moist breath of decay.

Anne Scott-James:

However small your garden, you must provide for two of the serious gardener's necessities, a tool shed and a compost heap.

Anonymous:

A good compost pile should get hot enough to poach an egg, but not so hot it would cook a lobster.

11 Responses to “Silly Saturday fun: compost quotes”

  1. Here goes…my own compost quote!

    ” Life is like a compost heap. The rotting debris of everyday trials just keep piling up….but if we wait long enough and remain steadfast and strong, even the stinkiest pile will bear good and worthwhile things.”

    OK…it might not be poetry but it has been a long day, with too much rotting debris LOL.

    Good night , G πŸ™‚

  2. Maybe I have too much manure in my heap! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh…so that’s the problem with mine too! LOL πŸ™‚

    We have been discussing tulips over at Veggies….any chance of seeing more about the tulip gardens of Holland on EFG, Ive seen them on TV but don’t know much more than how beautiful they looked???
    Also, any suggestions for ‘natural’ solutions in bug repellants?? The mosquitos are already fat and hungry here and with the threat of West Nile Virus, keeping them at bay is even more important. Just thought Id mention a couple of topics for consideration, hope you don’t mind! BFN, G.

  4. Hey G., I will look into organic mosquito control a bit more & post. I don’t know about particular brands but off the top of my head…..neem oil is supposed to be a good mosquito repellent. Also, if the mosquitos are breeding in water bodies near you…or even your birdbath, try the mosquito dunks. They are made with bT bacteria that kills the mosquitos before they hatch. But it only works in the water.

  5. Thanks for the tips C. but it’s mainly when we are out and about, park etc…that these pesky devils are really annoying. At home, we make sure to keep the yard dry and no standing water for sure. will look into the neem oil, thanks. G.

  6. I see, you just mean a spray for your selves. I would try one of the products on this link: http://www.mothernature.com/search/index.cfm?query=insect+repellant&Type=Products
    I’n not familiar with any of them personally but I do trust Mother Nature and several of them are rated with 5 stars by customers. Let me know if one of them works out–mosquitos aren’t a big problem here but always interested.

  7. Thanks again Caroline, for all the great info….you are a font of knowledge!
    Cheers, G. πŸ™‚

  8. Geraldine,

    I loved your compost β€œquote” so much that I took the liberty of transforming it into a poem:

    ”Life is like a compost heap. The rotting debris of everyday trials just keep piling up deep….but if we wait long enough and remain steadfast and strong, even the stinkiest pile will bear good and worthwhile things all year long.”

    Obviously, your “quote” made an impact on me πŸ™‚

  9. Geraldine,
    Good compost piles are not supposed to stink. Better trouble shoot and add some more browns or aerate if it stinks–but then I know that we are being metaphorical here, right? However we don’t want to give compost piles a bad rap.

  10. I wish my life was like a compost heap. If only all of the rottenness that makes up me could somehow be spread about in life to make someone else grow into someone beneficial and good.

    Usually doesn’t end up that way.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment