Excellent blogs

by Caroline Brown

Diane at Alberta Postcards was kind enough to give me an Excellent Blog Award. Mind Sieve came up with the idea to give this award to other blogs that you like, and if you’re awarded you have to pass it on, etc. Diane blogs about nature, gardening, writing, and poetry, among other things….plus you’ll really enjoy her photos (for ex., check out this post about the color blue.) Thanks Diane!

I have been derelict in my blogging responsibilities lately. I keep up with the blogs I read almost exclusively through aggregator sites like Bloglines, Blotanical, and Nature Blog Network. They give me a snapshot of the headlines, articles, and photos on many blogs without having to click through to all the blogs at different times. Because of this and time constraints I’ve all but given up commenting on blogs. But, I do have a list of blogs where I “lurk” or visit via a feed or other aggregator. These are the ones I give the Excellent Blog Award to.

In alphabetical order:

Firefly at Sweet Pea Chronicle. An inspiring writer and fellow New England gardener, Firefly blogs from Maine. I always learn something when I visit her site and I love the way she writes about nature.

Geraldine at Veggies, Crafts, & Tails. From British Columbia, Geraldine, who has written a great vegetarian cookbook, writes about vegetarian cooking, her super cute kitties, knitting, and life.

Green Thumb at India Garden. Green Thumb blogs from the other side of the world. Her pictures of her garden in northern India is fabulous. When I visit her site and look at her photos, I have to swallow my envy!

Jade at Arboreality and AppleJade. Jade blogs about everything trees at Arboreality and health and wellness at AppleJade. Another blogger with a good eye for photos.

Kris at Blithewold. Kris has one of the best jobs in the world. As interpretive horticulturist at Blithewold Mansion, Gardens, and Arboretum right here in Bristol, Little Rhody, Kris blogs about the beauties of nature that she experiences every day.

Layanee at Ledges and Gardens. Another Rhode Islander, Layanee is only about 20 minutes away from me in Foster. She has great knowledge about plants and the plant business, great photos to share, and….Tucker!!!

Michelle at Living Stress Free Naturally. Michelle has very thoughtful and detailed posts about holistic stress management therapies and other health and wellness topics.

And for fellow Rhode Islanders, two blogs packed with Rhode Island-specific information: Sue at Providential Gardener and Mary at Natural News Network. Sue is on top of the Providence gardening scene, tending a bounty of information, including a great events calendar. Mary is doing a great job keeping Our Little State informed about all things green, including policy, nature-related events, environmental issues, and much much more. If you’re in Rhode Island and you don’t know about these two….go now!

17 Comments to “Excellent blogs”

  1. You’ve selected some of my blog favourites as well – I will have to check out the blogs I’m unfamiliar with.

  2. Thanks very much C, I am honored to be on your list.

    I’m going to check out the other blogs I’m not familiar with, sounds like some excellent reading! Now, to decide who to pass the award to next!!! 🙂

    PS The kitties are just eating their breakfast crunchies but they also say, MEOOOOW,MEOOOW….that’s thank you for mentioning us to. LOL 😉

  3. PS: If you stop by Diane’s blog and check out her Butchart Gardens post again, I answered your chinook ??? I didn’t realise that was a Canuck term, perhaps it is! 😉

  4. Thanks G., now I get it. In California they have the Santa Ana winds or Santa Anas, same type of thing.

    What is a Canuck exactly?!?!?!?!? 🙂

  5. Hi again C, I was just clicking my way back to Veggies….and saw your ???

    This is from Wiki…

    “The term Canuck is first recorded about 1835 as an Americanism, originally referring specifically to a French Canadian. This was probably the original meaning, though in Canada and other countries, “Canuck” refers to any Canadian.” Canadians use “Canuck” as an affectionate description of nationality and the word carries no particular patriotic overtones. A few Americans misinterpret “Canuck” as an offensive noun but would be hard pressed to find a Canadian, French or English, insulted by the word.”

    They’ve got it right about not being an offensive term and of course we have the much beloved Vancouver Canucks, which makes the term even more meaningful, here in HOCKEYLAND. LOL

  6. Hi Caroline! I’m honored by the Excellent Blog Award. Thank you so much for considering my work and for offering such great material here at EFG!

    Best,
    Jade

  7. congratulations on the award. You have selected some good blogs that I like to read also.

  8. Hi Caroline,

    Congratulations on your award!! You certainly deserve it!

    Thanks also for the mention of “Living Stress-Free~Naturally!” Very kind of you! 🙂

    I may be soon haunting your pages for info on organic greenhouse gardening, something I may start after reading some of the things being done to our food supply…..from genetic engineering to pharmaceutic crops that deliver vaccines and other drugs. Yuck!

  9. PS: Wow, it’s like the Oscars C, and you just won your second one!!! Stop by Veggies….when you can.

    Promise, my last comment for the day, too many mug shots of me on your sidebar already. 😉

  10. Yes, you picked some of my favourites…and are rightly deserving of one yourself. Congrats!

  11. Hey Caroline – Congrats and thank you, thank you! Guess I better get busy and pass it on (- would it be too redundant to pass it back to you?! It would be like an endless loop of favoriting… )

  12. Hurrah!
    Thanks for links to blogs I hadn’t visited.
    Best wishes
    Rob

  13. The tilted E representing an “Excellent Blog” still has Enron implications for me. Please consider not using it.
    Thank you.

  14. Hi FresnoMikey, you’re right though there’s nothing I can do about it….I didn’t invent it. Rest assured it has nothing to do with Enron. I think the same thing every time I look at the Dell logo on my monitor.

  15. Caroline, I’m looking forward to visiting the blogs you’ve recommended.

    Diane
    Alberta Postcards Now at WordPress!!
    Diane’s Flickr photos

  16. Thanks for the blog tips. I will visit these.

Leave a Reply

