Local Thanksgiving meal: the sequel

by Caroline Brown

Well, after all the hype of the local Thanksgiving meal, Curt and I were invited to a friend’s house for dinner, and it seemed like too fun to pass up since our meal this year was going to be just the two of us. I knew when we accepted the invitation that the meal wouldn’t be local…or even homemade. (It was takeout from a well-known chain. Not what I would aspire to, but…)

So, I didn’t achieve my goal of eating a local meal, but I did make a Local Thanksgiving Dish to take as my contribution.

I chose something I make called potatoes dauphinois–I have no idea why it’s called that, because it’s really just like scalloped potatoes or potatoes au gratin with fewer ingredients. A small number of ingredients is very important when making a local dish! Plus it’s very easy and fast to make.

I made the potatoes from the following local ingredients:

  • organic red potatoes from the farmers market (instead of baking potatoes called for in the recipe)
  • organic garlic from the farmers market(not called for but I had it so what the heck)
  • organic shallots from the farmers market (ditto)
  • organic milk from a New England dairy cooperative
  • butter from a Maine farm
  • and of course, cheddar cheese from a small Vermont dairy (The recipe called for Gruyere. Not exactly local, but there’s lots of cheddar around here.)

The not-local ingredients were salt, pepper, and nutmeg.

It was delicious! Not that I’m biased, of course.

To atone for only making one dish, I made a local breakfast the next morning. It was an scrambled egg concotion that I made up, including:

  • Eggs from a RI farm (I could ride my bike there in a pinch) that raises free-roaming chickens and doesn’t feed them hormones, chemicals, etc.
  • Organic spinach, red onions, and garlic from the local farmers market

The non-local ingredients were the oil, salt, and pepper.

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday and was able to enjoy at least one local dish on Thanksgiving, or even for another meal over the holiday.

4 Comments to “Local Thanksgiving meal: the sequel”

  1. MMmm… that food looks SOOO LOVELY! We had a delicious Thanksgiving as well – and ate way, way too much. 🙂

  2. Yumm-eeee. Your potatoes look dee-ass-licious! Our Thanksgivings are now spent out in the middle of nowhere, NC, where David’s family has been hosting a pig-picking family reunion each T-giving day since the Civil War. It’s a pot-luck kind of thing, and the food was hardly spectacular, but I did score 3 helpings of some lady’s freshly cut collard greens, which were so good. Plus my Grandmother came up to visit over the weekend and she brought me lots of sweet potatoes from my great-aunt’s farm, and some frozen corn and butterbeans for the freezer. So all in all I guess it was a pretty local T-giving.

    Hope you and Curt had a nice day together!

  3. It all looks just heavenly! As for us, I believe our squash was relatively local, and the olives are packaged by a company called Early California Foods. Does that count? 🙂

  4. I agree, your spuds look spectacular!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

