Winter is definitely here

by Caroline Brown

It’s still technically fall I suppose–the trees aren’t completely devoid of leaves, but there are a few telltale signs here and there: winter is here for the long haul.

Blogging lightly for the last few days…we have company and my office doubles as the guest bedroom. I’ll be back in a couple of days with a post on two rare native plants in my area.

9 Comments to “Winter is definitely here”

  1. We have a few leaves still on the trees as well, but the weather last week took a turn toward the cold and rainy. There was a break in the clouds last night, though…just in time to enjoy the beautiful full moon high in the sky!

    Enjoy your time with your guests!

  2. That is a sad photo….it is true that winter is on the way, can’t be helped. You are lucky to not have the harsh winters we have though…Minus 30 below or worse is not uncommon here!!!!

    The Mitz just posted so do send the kitties over when they can get on the computer!

    Huggs, G

  3. A beautiful full moon it was last night, indeed. I couldn’t get a good shot of the moonrise coming over the ridge, I’ll have to just keep it in my memory.

  4. If you want to see SNOW….stop by Veggies….some arrived (and big time) already, up North. I like it a lot better in photos!!!! šŸ˜¦

  5. Can’t wait to hear more on the native plants. I’ve just built my first cold-frame, and I’m trying to grow some vegetables for the winter. I’m so excited to see if anything grows!

  6. It is sad to see the annuals die and the perennials enter their dormancy but don’t you love the crisp mornings with the hoar frost on the leaves? Also, the birds get closer to the feeders and watching them can be done inside, in the rocker with a cup of coffee!

  7. I saw a jay on my deck balcony this morning…defending his turf (the feeders) against all the little chickadees and wrens.

    As for my impatiens, I’m somewhat sadistically leaving the dead ones in place for now, this weekend I have to do a giant yard cleaning!

  8. I love this photo. Sadly, this is what my windowboxes looked like ALL summer. I never got around to planting anything in them.

    I’m jealous of your company….I wish it was me!

  9. Kim, I wish it was you too!!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

