Farmers market haul

by Caroline Brown

It’s such a shame that I don’t have a digital camera to take pictures of today’s colorful farmers market haul from the Hope St. Farmers Market.

I wrote a newsletter for the Southside Community Land Trust, a Providence-based community garden and farm, and part of my payment was a market credit at their Hope St. booth. Because it’s nearing the end of the season and I wanted to get the most of my credit, I bought some stuff I might not otherwise buy….purple beans, for example, and a bottle of homemade fertilizer made from fish emulsion.

I also bought regular green beans, Swiss chard, basil, salad greens, cherry tomatoes, and GASP…..spinach. I snagged the last bunch. I can’t wait to eat it. I might even defy the fearmongers and eat it raw.

4 Comments to “Farmers market haul”

  1. Like the new look C, bright and eye-catching!!! Love that banner.

    Have a great day, G

    PS When you can, please change my blog name to Veggies, Crafts and Tails, thanks

  2. Vive les epinards! (Did I spell that right?)
    Munch on!

  3. Speaking of greens, what’s the scoop on that spinach recall from the US??? Scary stuff, e coli is not suppose to be a topic of fear for veggielovers, sounds like its getting to be more of a problem. Yikes! 😦

    BFN, G

    PS Tails (as in the Mitz, she took offense to the spelling here!!! LOL)

  4. I too have been enjoying the benefits of local farmers. Fresh vegetables are among the finer things in life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

