Cures for blogging burn-out?

by Caroline Brown

Do any fellow bloggers have a recommended Rx for blogging burn-out? I have a pretty strong case of it right now and I want to know if others have dealt with it and how.

I know that regular readers have noticed that there’s a lot more time between posts. I used to pride myself on having a new post on 6 days out of 7. Recently it’s more like every 3rd day!

My problem is that I’m so busy with other PAYING work right now and I don’t have as much time to do the fun, free stuff, like my blog. I’m busy with my summer job taking care of the young trees on Blackstone Boulevard. Plus I have my regular writing work that I’m doing and that has actually picked back up in the last couple of months.

Another problem is that I’ve lost a little inspiration. I’m not sure why and this really bothers me. But I sit down at the PC, fully intending to blog and…nothing.

And to top it off, I don’t have air conditioning and it’s 85 degrees F in my home office, which makes me only want to be on the computer when I have to.

I’ll take any and all advice on how to deal with this!
Photo courtesy of US National Park Service

12 Comments to “Cures for blogging burn-out?”

  1. I just took a break for a week or so. Told everyone that’s what I was doing and then took my break. When I came back, I told everyone that I would blog when I blogged and that they needed to understand that. And it was the best move I made. Now I don’t feel so guilty about not blogging for four or five days. And I’m able to be more productive. Hope this helps.

  2. Hi C, I actually feel guilty for all the time I spend in Blogland. It is such a relaxing time for me, writing posts, visiting and commenting on blogs. One thing that helps with the time factor, I am a very speedy typist LOL…..true. I do have so many other things on the go…work and personal committments. Every day I have such good intentions and waaaaay toooo long to do lists, but Im trying to get real about that too. This week, I wrote a to do for the week list, still lots on it, but the whole week to chip away at it.

    If you need time out from blogging than you should take it. Or what about trying a new schedule for blogging, say every second day? I also find that when I stack up too many posts at once, most people tend to only read the first couple of new ones on the page, unless its via a search or feed. Then a post doesn’t get read as much as it might have.

    I REALLY enjoy reading your blog, even if some of the garden jargon is beyond me. Its always interesting though.

    Take care, Your blog-buddy, G

  3. Good suggestions ladies. Maybe I should make a perma-post in the rt. hand sidebar saying that I’m blogging at diminished capacity this summer. That way I won’t feel like I’m letting people down.

  4. That won’t work C….I mean, do you REALLY want to give up blogging? Wouldn’t you miss all of us LOL…..I know I would, even if Im offline for a day. Blogging rocks!!!!

    BFN, G 🙂

  5. nah I don’t want to give it up. But remember how Kim was saying that sometimes it feels like just one more obligation/stress factor? Right now that’s how I feel too. I didn’t mean to imply that I would give it up. Just a “note” that would inform people that I’m blogging less often. Like say, every other or 3rd day instead of every day.

  6. Ya gotta do what ya gotta do C…your blog pals will still love ya!!! 🙂

    G

    PS I just posted a cool as opposed to hot post on Veggies….hope it helps!

  7. Whatever your decision – just let people know!!!
    And a good cure for burn-out is a break – can’t recommend anything better! 🙂

  8. Greetings! I’ve noticed so many people experiencing blog-burnout over the summer, and just taking a nice vacation as other have suggested.

    Another thing I like to do if I’m feeling the need to step back is try something new with my blog. Sometimes this comes in the form of a specific inquiry or a series of photographs, or some other project that sparks my own creative interest. I’ve seen some people make a certain day of the week a regular “game day” installment.

    You can also focus for a while on creating short, simple posts every five or six days that invoke thought with a couple lines, direct people to other interesting/pertinent sites, or otherwise maintain interest without requiring you to post every single day.

    Good luck, and enjoy your break,

    JLB
    http://arboreality.blogspot.com/

  9. JLB & Gernot-thanks for your advice AND support. Much of my problem is guilt, which is dumb, and I just need to get over that and do what I need to do!

  10. I like JLB’s suggestions a lot !!! Im going to keep them in mind, even though I don’t have blogger burnout, I have ‘blogger overload’ most days….I just love it so much, start visiting, writing etc….and before I know it, an hour (or two, blush…) has slipped by.

    Thanks for the suggestions, Im going to visit your blog now JLB.

    Cheers, G 🙂

  11. I second JLB’s suggestion to come up with a topic for a certain day of the week, which would help in deciding what to write about. I’ve been thinking of ways to do that myself, which is how the Tuesday Morning Commute thing came about, although I don’t post it every Tuesday. Maybe you could just post a photo one day a week, like a picture of what you bought at the farmer’s market, or a picture of your cats…something easy and accessible.

    I also LOVE reading your blog, even though I don’t always comment. That’s a struggle with me as well, just finding time during the day to “spend time” with my favorite bloggers and catch up on their posts. I’m just so proud of you for starting this blog and taking advantage of the many opportunities that have come your way in the short time that you’ve been doing it. You’re already writing a column for the newspaper and you and Curt formed a side business! Maybe soon you can quit your “day job.” And all because of your wonderful blog, which is a smashing success. So don’t feel guilty about not posting every day….it’s quality, not quantity!

  12. Thanks for encouraging me Kim. I’m toying with weekly “column” names like Tuesday Morning Commute. JLB has Monday Morning Muse. But, our digital camera broke–fell in the Taunton River, long story–and so I probably won’t be able to do that until I buy a new one. But, I’m going to keep at it and already I feel better about not posting every day. The nice thing was, when I made this post about being burned out, I didn’t really expect many people to respond and a lot of people did and were very encouraging. That really re-inspired me!

Leave a Reply

