Saturday morning at the local farmers’ market

by Caroline Brown

The past couple of Saturdays I’ve been able to shop at two different farmers markets in Providence. Produce is at its peak right now and I’m trying to get fresh, organic & local whenever I can. There’s not a farmers’ market that’s close by my house, but since I’m spending a lot of time in Providence this summer, I have access to several.

Today I went to the Hope High School Market–it was packed, for a good reason. I bought tomatoes, scallions, carrots, cucumbers, basil, and green beans. I was tempted by homemade bread but resisted, since I knew it would have to sit in the car for a couple of hours as I wasn’t headed straight home.

Afterwards, I spent a couple of hours on Blackstone Boulevard getting the tree-watering started (more on that tomorrow). I came home around 12:30–absolutely famished. There was no doubt in my mind what I was going to eat. I chopped up a tomato and an avocado (OK, not even close to local, but I love them anyway) and mixed them up in a bowl, and sliced up a cucumber to eat as a side. It was probably the best meal I’ve had in weeks. The tomatoes have so much more flavor than regular market tomatoes and the cucumbers remind me of my mom’s.

The only thing that was missing was fresh peaches. A couple of weeks ago, I bought some from Antonio at the Broad Street Farmers’ Market. They absolutely melted in my mouth. The peaches I saw at Hope High School didn’t look as big and lovely, so I passed this time. Next weekend I’ll track Antonio down.

I hope you have the opportunity to shop at a farmers’ market this summer too.

Photo of Broad Street Farmers’ Market courtesy of Farm Fresh RI.

One Comment to “Saturday morning at the local farmers’ market”

  1. Yummmm…fresh fruits, veggies, preserves etc….farmer’s markets are always fun.

    Enjoy the bounty….G 🙂

    PS I just posted a reply re: Yves on the Veggie pizza post, C. Thanks for stopping by too.

Leave a Reply

