Japanese quince

by Caroline Brown

Japanese quince (Chaenomeles japonica), also called flowering quince, are in their floriferous glory right now. My neighbor's quince, left, makes the view of the courtyard through my kitchen window so much nicer this time of year.

In late summer, the apple-shaped fruit of the quince bush litters the ground. That's because the flesh is hard and they're too bitter to eat raw–quince actually have more Vitamin C than lemons and are quite astringent. However you can make jams and preserves from them, which are supposedly quite good.

Now, if I only knew how to make jams. Maybe in my next reincarnation as a homesteader.

4 Comments to “Japanese quince”

  1. I can see you in a bonnet right now, stirring your big black kettle with a stick! 🙂

  2. I have a question, My Grandfather always called this bush , “Mose in the flaming bush” Would that be another name for it. ??? or not.???

    He has called this bush that ever sence he had it back in the early 1920’s My Mother got it after my grandfather passed away, and now I have it , sence my mother passed away.

    My mother got it from Ind. and moved it to Ohio, and now I have it in Tenn. I was just wondering if it was the same bush.

    Thank you so much Gilda

  3. A Blog called Autumn Cottage Diarist has a recipe for quice fruit jam. 🙂

  4. Oh, hey! I’m from RI too! Small world. I found your blog while looking for pictures of quince bushes. Just got my first one today. I live down in Exeter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

