Cornell U. Cooperative Extension

by Caroline Brown

Cornell University's Cooperative Extension (Ithaca, NY) has a great gardening section. There's so much information there that you'll feel overwhelmed! Most of the information is general, not region-specific, so there's something for just about every gardener.

There's a Home Gardening website, the Department of Horticulture's Gardening Portal, gardening factsheets, and even distance learning classes, including an upcoming class on organic gardening. But perhaps the most valuable section is the publications store, whose navigation is unfortunately somewhat hidden. But it has a ton of printed resources that you can buy–written by CU scientists and priced very reasonably. I have one of their many publications on composting.

So if you're in the market to buy gardening resources, I recommend checking with Cornell first before you hit the bookstore. You won't find slick, glossy books here but you will find sound, science-based gardening information.

5 Comments to “Cornell U. Cooperative Extension”

  1. I am interested in starting a blueberry farm. Can you provide some information and/or guide to publications that would help me in this venture? I plan to start this farm in the Champlain Valley.

  2. Hi Bill, Sounds like a great new career. I will do some research and write a response in the next couple of days.

  3. Here is a link to blog that talks about the economics of blueberry farming

    http://www.bcblueberryfarm.com

  4. I have been told that you are looking for volunteers for a shell fish study being conducted on Long Island.
    I am 62 years old retired and live in Coram NY. I have spent a large portion of my life on the Great South Bay and understand how important this would be. I also have some knowledge of Peconic Bay. Would someone please contact me. My phone number is (631)736-2043 and can be contacted almost any day. If you get my answering machine please leave a number I can call back at.
    Thank You,
    Tad Cox (splash047@yahoo.com)

Leave a Reply

