Books about nature, sustainable living & gardening

by Caroline Brown

I plan to start writing book reviews in this space shortly. If you’ve read any good books about nature, or sustainable living and gardening, drop me an email and I’ll review it. In the next few weeks, I’m planning to review Richard Louv’s Last Child in the Woods, Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire, Noah’s Garden by Sarah Stein, and Cradle to Cradle by William McDonough & Michael Braungart. In the meantime, Tom Philpott at Grist wrote a couple of good book reviewsFields of Plenty: A Farmer’s Journey in Search of Real Food and the People Who Grow It by Michael Ableman (damn! I wish I had written this book!), and Hungry Planet by Faith D’Aluisio and Peter Menzel.

5 Comments to “Books about nature, sustainable living & gardening”

  1. Check out “Rodale’s Successful Organic Gardening- Controlling Pests and Diseases.” It is my bible and easy to read. Suma

  2. Hi Suma, thanks for reminding me of Rodale’s book. Though I don’t have it I’ve looked at it and it’s a good resource. I’ll put it on my list of books to review. By the way we love having Raj’s sculpture in our gallery!

  3. I hope you will review my new book, The Nature-friendly Garden: Creating a Backyard Haven for Plants, Wildlife, and People.
    Thanks so much.
    Marlene

  4. Hi Marlene, I’ll put it your book on my winter reading list.

  5. THANK YOU!!!!!

Leave a Reply

